Search This Blog

26 April 2007

Colour therapy and Chakras.

Colour Therapy uses colour to balance the Chakras of the body. "Chakras" is a common concept in several disciplines of alternative medicine. It forms a part of holistic cleansing of self and the body. A chakra is a centre of energy which has several functions. In addition to being 'representative' of a particular organ or group of organs, a chakra also controls our being on different levels.
The " chakras" form the base of meditation.

The word chakra is a Sanskrit word that means wheel. From a side view, a chakra looks like a cone with its point plugging into your spine to receive energy, and its opening about four inches from your body.

There are seven main energy centres (chakras) of the body which resonate with the seven rainbow colours.
Chakras are like spirals of energy, each one relating to the others.
If you can imagine the main chakras as the energy centres of the body.These are a set of wheels, working smoothly non stop like a clock with its speed. You can imagine it as a set of motion.

Thus good health and well being is achieved by a balance of all these energy centres or chakras.

Colour Therapy uses colour to balance the Chakras of the body

There are seven main energy centres (chakras) of the body which resonate with the seven rainbow colours.

The Base Chakra: Mooladhar Chakra
This is the chakra that is situated at the base of the spine. Its the first chakra and therefore called the base chakra.However, according to meditation or holistic teaching this chakra is know as the Mooladhar Chakra.This chakra relates to self awareness. It is the area of survival and stability, security and your place on this earth.
The kidneys and the Bladder relate to this chakra.
Some associated problems relating to the base chakra are:- constipation, diarrhoea, piles, colitis, Crohn's disease, cold fingers and toes, frequency of urination, hypertension (high blood pressure), kidney stones, impotence, problems with hips, legs and feet.
RED stimulates brain wave activity, increases heart rate, respirations and blood pressure. It warms us and awakens us physically and energizes our blood.

The Sacral Chakra:
SACRAL chakra situated in the lower abdomen. The organs to which this chakra relates are uterus, large bowel, prostate, ovaries and testes. Sacral Chakra relates to self respect. It relates to give ourselves the freedom,respect our boundries and therefore those of others.The most common problems arising due to imbalace of this chakra is low back pain.
It relates of the orange colour.ORANGE is the color of joy and wisdom. It gives an energy, stimulates appetite and it is a good color for illnesses of the colon and digestion. Spiritually it is the color of joy. It connects us to our emotional self.

The Solar Plexus Chakra:
This chakra is situated just below the ribs.It is associated with the liver, spleen, stomach and small intestine. The endocrine gland is the pancreas.This chakra relates to the self worth.
This is the area of the personality, the ego,super ego and the intellect.
The imbalance of this chakras can cause diabetes, pancreatitis, liver disease, peptic ulcer, Coeliac's disease, gall stones.
YELLOW is the solar plexus chakra. It energizes, relieves depression, improves memory, stimulates appetite and helps in digestive problems. Spiritually it is the color of wisdom and connects us to our mental self.

The Heart Chakra:
As the name suggests, it is related to the heart.It relates to the ability to give and take unconditionally. When balanced we are able to give this love and also love and nurture ourselves.The main organ associated with this chakra is the heart.
Imbalance of this chakra can cause heart diseases , diseases of the Immune System, chronic fatigue.
GREEN affects the heart chakra. It has a calming effect and balances the nervous system. Green color is soothing, relaxing mentally as well as physically, helps those suffering from depression, anxiety, nervousness. It is a good color for cardiac conditions, high blood pressure and ulcers. Since green stimulates growth, it should be avoided in cancers and other tumors. Spiritually it is the color of love. Many a times you may find a lot of this colour in hospitals.

The Throat Chakra:
It is associated with the lungs, throat, the thyroid glanda and endocrine glands.
It relates to self expression. Speech, communication, the ability to communicate our needs and requirements.The spirit of truth.
Imbalance can cause thyroid problems, Anorexia nervosa - this is a multi-chakra problem, but has a strong connection to the throat chakra; sore throat, asthma and bronchitis.
BLUE is the color for the throat chakra. It is a good color in respiratory illness or throat infections. Blue is calming and cooling to our system and hence, a good color to counteract hypertension. Spiritually it is the color of health and connects us to holistic thought.

The Brow Chakra:
This chakra is in the centre of the forehead. It relates to relates to self responsibility.It's being responsible about one's own life , follow the soul path and trust one's intution.
The related organs to this chakra are the eyes, lower head and sinuses and the endocrine gland is the pituitary gland.
At this stage , the self has to let go of ego,where he can see things from a different dimmension and has a major role to play in self growth.
Imbalance can cause tension headache, migraines,sinus and even visual defects.
INDIGO is the color for healing of the brow chakra. It is a good color for sinusitis, immunity problems, and all face problems. Too much of this color can cause depression. Spiritually it is the color of intuition and connects us to our unconscious self.

The Crown Chakra:
This Chakra is at the top of the head.The related organ to this chakra is the brain and the endocrine gland is the pineal gland.
It relates to the knowledge and spiritual awareness. It is the union with your higher self, with spirituality, and your higher consciousness. It leads to idealistic way of life.
Imbalance may causeDepression, Parkinson's disease, Schizophrenia, Epilepsy, Senile dementia, Alzheimer's and many mental disorders.
VIOLET is the color of the crown chakra. It is cleansing, strengthening, and awakening, suppresses appetite, provides a peaceful environment. It affects the skeletal system of the body. It is a good color for improving immunity, cancerous conditions, and arthritis. It also purifies the system and is an excellent colour for headaches and migrains. Spiritually it is the color of faith and connects us to our spiritual self.

1 comment:

Sreelatha said...

It was indeed a very informative post. But i have a small clarification. How do we use these colors to balance these chakras. Is it that we wear clothes of these colors. Would like to know how.